Freelance Life

How To Spend Your Time

In March, I have taken the leap into freelance life. I am writing for the local newspaper and also have two photography clients through which some comissions trickle in a few times a month.
And what can I say, being a freelancer is a curse and a blessing. I need to establish a routine, get more clients (which also pay me better), figure things out during the next one to two years. The good thing is that I am still a full-time student, and though it sometimes is hard to get both my studies AND my work under the same hat, there still is a good side to it.

Being a student first and foremost means that I have some time to develop my skills further, and figure out what it is that I want to be doing eventually. It also takes off a lot of pressure that I would have if I already was a full-time freelancer. Especially when starting out it can feel overwhelming, and it happens quite often that people lose their motivation and are full of self-doubts when the clients and comissions don’t rush in immediately.

It simply takes time, unless you are really lucky or happen to have the right connections to the right people at the right time. It doesn’t mean you failed, or will be failing. But it requires lots of stamina, strength and willpower to keep going. I hope it will pay off in the end, because it is what I want to be doing with my life, and it took me quite a while to realize it, and then eliminate the little voices that told me I couldn’t do it.

So now, there will be an additional category about my experiences with freelancing, called “From the Freelance Front” (I bet you didn’t see this one coming…).

Are you a freelancer, too, or do you plan to become one? What are your experiences?

2 thoughts on “Freelance Life

    1. Hi Caitlin,
      thanks for sharing your experience, in this comment as well as on your blog.
      It really is so much work juggling the freelancing business and university at the same, and then there are other interests, friends, family, and relationships that need attention, too. I’m curious about how I will be feeling about it all in one year.

Leave a Reply

