Caitlin Moran: How to Be A Woman

9780091940744 You guys, I’m so excited to announce to you my favourite book of the year!

It is the feminist masterpiece How to Be A Woman by English writer and journalist Caitlin Moran. I think everyone should read it, even if they are “not into feminism”. Especially if they are “not into feminism”.
This book is part memoir, part feminist manifesto. And let me tell you, it is awesome! Not only does it discuss different aspects of being a woman, it also does this in a humourous way.

It was so funny that at times I just couldn’t help but burst out laughing, and sometimes I would even giggle again and again for minutes, reading and re-reading whole sentences and passages simply to crack me up again. I don’t think this ever happened to me before with a book. I am glad I didn’t read it in public because I possibly would have embarrassed myself quite badly; and at the same I’m sad I didn’t read it in public because then people would have been curious what kind of book this is, and then bought it and read it and all become feminists themselves. Really, this is how awesome and hilarious this book is.

The book is parted into 16 chapters addressing topics as diverse as puberty, body-image, sexism, fashion, work, dating, marriage, children – you name it. Starting on her 13th birthday, the narrative accompanies Caitlin through puberty, adolescence, and adulthood, covering all important events most people experience at one time or another point in their lives, such as changes to their body, identity, and so forth.

The writing is funny, yes, but also intelligent and witty, and at times quite graphic. But since I don’t mind swearing and blunt language, this is all more than fine by me.

Caitlin Moran, you are awesome! And thank you for writing this book.

You get quite a good idea of the book and its humour and wit in this video:

Caitlin Moran: How to Be A Woman
Ebury Press (2012)
Paperback, 320 pages
Originally published in 2012
Genre: non-fiction, memoir
Topics: feminism, women, society, culture

Leave a Reply

