Olympus XA

A few months ago I was rummaging through some cardboard boxes that usually collect dust on top of my bedroom closet. What I found among old school textbooks and the odd bits and pieces was… CAMERAS! More particularly, an Olympus XA rangefinder, and two Russian Zenit (-E and -ET) single lens reflex cameras.

While I was already familiar with and love the Zenits, I had never felt the urge to try out the Olympus XA. I even considered selling it on Ebay since it was not an SLR but a simple rangefinder. Yup, I’m a snob like that.

Or at least I was until I decided to give it a try – just for the hell of it – and searched for images taken with an Olympus XA on Flickr. Little did I expect to find such awesome pictures as those appearing on the screen. Suddenly I was extremely grateful I did not sell the little beast online. Though that would have served me right for being such an ignorant snob. šŸ˜›

After my favourite and go-to choice for a camera, the Canon AE-1, broke down once again, I loaded some film into the XA and took it with me. Though it took some time getting used to it, I can handle it pretty well by now.

I love this camera. It is a light-weight and super small – it easily fits into the pockets of my jackets. As a result, I’m more likely to take the camera with me and actually shoot regularly. With the more heavy SLRs I always think twice about schlepping it somewhere. It’s fun and I also like the results – it’s amazing what a little thing like this can do!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All my Olympus XA shots in one place.

A gallery of some of my favourite shots taken by other people.

2 thoughts on “Olympus XA

Leave a Reply

